Never Postpone a Prompting.

I worked about 20 minutes over today and was in a rush to go to the grocery as soon as I got off. Not to mention it was my first day back at work where I took vacation time off to be off for the full week of Christmas. Needless to say it was a busy day for me. Also, I had a list of stuff to buy at the grocery store after work, and laundry to do when I got home. I am sure I looked like I was on a mission at the grocery store, zoned in and checking items off one by one, unaware of anyone around me.

I was pushing a cart FULL of groceries that included canned items, lots of dairy items that are all Dean’s products, I had household items, and more stuff that we needed plus some stuff that we wanted, like cookies, candies, and fresh produce, gum etc. (My husbands family has a dairy farm that sells all their milk to Deans, so we always buy Deans products to support them).

And a little over an hour later I was finally done grocery shopping. I pushed my cart to one of the only open lines and had to wait for about 5-ish minutes before it was my turn. I was forced to take a much needed break, I had time for my mind to wander, nothing to rush. There was nothing I could do but wait.

I was watching the mother and daughter in front of me check out. The little girl was so well behaved, she was so quiet, so cute. I can’t wait to have a family one day. I just love children, I swear they speak to my soul. The mother and daughter just looked so happy. I could also hear a young boy behind me and his mother. She sounded stressed. He seemed to be annoying her but didn’t I couldn’t figure out why, he was just being a kid, asking questions and pointing to magazines. I thought to myself I bet she is just tired, maybe she has had a stressful day like me. I didn’t want to look back at them so I just looked ahead.

Finally it was my turn to check out. I loaded everything on to the conveyor belt. The cashier got everything scanned and bagged and in my cart and after I paid she handed me my receipt. Right then I got a prompting. I needed to buy whatever this lady behind me has in her cart. At this point, I haven’t seen this lady or how much stuff she had in her cart and I was a bit worried about how much money I would need to pay. I go about 5 steps away and pretend to check my receipt so I can make a plan. I didn’t want to make this woman feel awkward or make her feel like she looked poor or needed help. I just needed to buy her groceries because I was prompted to.

I decide I am to nervous not wanting to make a scene and walk out without paying for her groceries.

As I walk out of the store I think to myself, Tara, you never postpone a prompting. Ever. The lord asked you to do this and that is what your going to do. . So I waited outside for her.

Her and her son came out and there I was, I asked ma’am, I checked out in front of you and didn’t want to make a scene or anything but I really want to buy your groceries. She was stunned. It was the deer in headlights look. She shook her head and mumbled out, are you serious? (I could see the hope in her eyes). I said yes I am very serious. If you don’t mind, how much were they? She said they were $22.00. I pulled out my wallet and gave her $30.00 and told her I hoped it helped her in some way. She looked at me smiling and asked if she could give me a hug, and there we were; two strangers hugging in a grocery store parking lot. We wished each other happy new year and we split ways.

Now, I don’t know how bad she needed that $30.00, but I can tell you I think it helped me more than her. I love to give and help others but sometimes it can be nerve-wrecking, and I am not one to make a scene. It gives me so much gratitude being able to help others.

The lord has so many jobs for all of us to do and we have to prove to him that we are willing to serve him when we are called. Even if it makes us nervous or worried about what others will think. Just remember if you feel the lord is telling you to do something, you need to do it regardless of how nervous you are about doing it.

ccda19c99f343e349eb435a553d9f0f5

Be the good in the world.

With Love,

Tara

Image | This entry was posted in Church related, Inspiring and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

