What is Christmas really about?

1080aa26bbd3605f926f3b5634c7e629

Sometimes things are just rough.

Sometimes…

Life can be hard. Family’s split up. People lose jobs. People lose loved ones. Pets get lost or pass on. Vehicles break down. House payments are missed. Neighbors are not neighborly. People preach to help others yet don’t answer the phone when they know it’s a call for help.

And the Holidays come anyway. With all the turmoil in your life, the world doesn’t stop for you or me or anyone else. We are supposed to deal with what ever is going on in our lives quietly not to disturb anyone else from their happy celebrations.

Christmas is supposed to represent such a wonderful time; the birth of Christ. Yet it has become so commercialized that it doesn’t feel like that’s what the holiday is for. It’s a burden for some families that are going through tough times and are expected to keep up with the Joneses.

Just step back and think about this, you buy a tree, lights, ornaments, and house decorations, just to get in the Christmas spirit. You are expected to have time off work which could potentially be un paid depending on your work benefits when your work place closes to celebrate Christmas. Lets not forget that you are also expected to buy gifts, and lots of them. Gifts for your children, gifts for all the children in your family, gifts for your parents, grandparents, siblings, co-workers, neighbors, and the rest of your families. It sounds to me like it has nothing to do with celebrating the birth of Christ.

Did you read scriptures about the lord? Did you help others come closer to Christ? How about just help others? Did you thank the lord for sending his only begotten son to die for our sins so many years ago? Or did you get so lost in the Christmas jumble with shopping and have so many holiday parties to go to you lost count? To be completely honest, that was me. I got so wrapped up in everything going on and really just lost sight of it all.

We don’t try to understand more about what the bible teaches us about Jesus, instead we spend all year long saving money to ruin a holiday to spend it all (Thanksgiving and the day after). When that holiday is supposed to be about being thankful for what we have. I’m not going to sit here and act like I didn’t shop on Thanksgiving night and black Friday because I did, you almost can not afford to not shop those sales since you have SO MANY people to buy for and everything is so cheap on these two days.

I can tell you next year will be different for me. I wont buy but one gift for everyone and they will all have a cap on what amount I can spend. I will volunteer for at least 10 hours somewhere, maybe a nursing home or maybe a soup kitchen. But next year I will really try to bring the spirit of Christmas to my holiday.

Instead of it being about gifts, it will be about Christ and I will put forth a real effort to make this happen.

If your not religious and that is how you want to spend your holiday then that is wonderful. I just hate looking back and regretting how I spent mine, I don’t think I honored Jesus in anything I did. I hope everyone spends their holiday how they want to instead of looking back wishing you had done it differently.

If you want to learn more about my religion you can click here or if you want to find a church near you please click here.

7059ffdea46b85661403fe48f2e9c652

This entry was posted in Church related, Inspiring and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

